Crunkcore or Canker Sore?

September 21, 2010

Crunkcore: What it is and why you should be afraid…very afraid.

If you haven’t heard of the phenomenon by now,crunkcore is a music genre that combines elements of

  1. Crunk hip hop, which uses heavy baselines & looped drum machines.
  2. Scremo, which unfortunately combines punk music with high pitched melodies that are usually ‘screamed’, not sung.
  3. Auto-tuned vocals, which has recently replaced the vocal chords of artists everywhere with a perfectly pitched distortion of the human voice.
  4. Techno.

Blended together on ‘High’ and poured into a bloody eardrum, crunkcore seems to be  the product of all things bad in pop-culture wrapped into one grotesque neon package.

One of the first bands to claim crunkcore fame is New Mexico’s, brokeNCYDE. With singles such as “FreaXXX, Booty Call, and 40 oz.”, they have been hailed, along with the entire genre, as  “a mockery to the world of music” – Thrash Magazine.

Leor Galil: “There hasn’t been a level  of backlash like this toward one act in  the 10 years I’ve been doing this,”  says AbsolutePunk founder and CEO  Jason Tate via email. Tate is a  regular  contributor to the website’s  forums and has been absolutely stunned by the mere existence  of brokeNCYDE. “They’re just that bad, and they epitomize  everything that music (and human beings) should not be. “

Despite the apparent disgust from anyone over the age of 16, brokeNCYDE’s third album I’m Not a Fan, But the Kids Like It, debuted #86 on the Billboard 200 in 2009.

But lets put all musical judgments away and instead focus on what crunkcore bands are actually saying. The predominate lyrics from the crunkcore scene try to mimic those we’ve  previously seen from hip hop. However with crunkcore, the message is inherently mixed up in ignorance that transcends into the tough life of  suburban teen who doesn’t care about anything except having sex with girls, doing drugs, and being the “shitz”.

Drugs, sex & ego’s, you say?! So what’s the real difference between this and rap music? Let me clarify. Rap lyrics have always been an extremely controversial topic of debate. Rap’s  influence on children has brought up heated arguments on violence and sexism that is still saturating our society today. However, rap lyrics come from a peice of hip hop culture that is known and understood by those who are a part of it. Crunkcore, on the other hand, is merely emulating what this male dominated genre marks  as ‘cool’ and spitting it out into the masses.  Unfortunately for their fan base, to be ‘cool’, is to be shamelessly self adsorbed while setting low sexual standards for young girls. But I guess being bad was always cool, right?

Lyrics to Blood on the Dance Floor’s ‘Sexting’:

Hit me up/ Make me cum/ Wanna sext?/I’ll show you some/ Sticky drama/ All the way/ Want my dick? You gotta pay…Cut the shit/ Show your tits/ Flip it out on my sidekick/ Like Quagmier in Family Guy/ Giggity! Giggity! All the time… I wanna fuck you hard!/ I wanna feel you deep! / I wanna rock your body!/ I wanna taste your sweet!


Lyrics to brokeNCYDE’s ‘Sex Toyz’:

Turn around girlfriend now drop it./ Let me see you pop and lock it./ Put your hands down in my pocket./ And make my PP hard./ Shut the fuck up bitch, quit talking./ I want to see those panties dropping./ Drop those fucking panties girl!…And I love it when you tease me, YEAH!/ You’re sexy baby but you know that./ You don’t have to ask me a million times./ If you want to have sex lets make some time./ Lets take them drugs, lets drink that wine./ Feel that bottle up baby and make it shine./ When I can feel your body next to mine./ That when I know it’s sexy time.

Last time I checked, it was not cool for you to call you penis a “PeePee”.  Also last time I checked, it was not cool to sing songs to girls about wanting to have sex with them…especially when your fan base is mostly comprised of tween girls, 9-15 years old.

Crunkcore: What it is and why you should be afraid…very afraid.

If you haven’t heard of the phenomenon by now, crunkcore is a music genre that combines elements of

  1. Crunk hip hop, which uses heavy baselines & looped drum machines.
  2. Scremo, which unfortunately combines punk music with high pitched melodies that are usually ‘screamed’, not sung.
  3. Auto-tuned vocals, which has recently replaced the vocal chords of artists everywhere with a perfectly pitched distortion of the human voice.
  4. Techno.

Blended together on ‘High’ and poured into a bloody eardrum, crunkcore seems to be  the product of all things bad in pop-culture wrapped into one grotesque neon package.

One of the first bands to claim crunkcore fame is New Mexico’s, brokeNCYDE. With singles such as “FreaXXX, Booty Call, and 40 oz.”, they have been hailed, along with the entire genre, as ” a mockery to the world of music”- Thrash Magazine.

Leor Galil: “There hasn’t been a level  of backlash like this toward one act in  the 10 years I’ve been doing this,”  says AbsolutePunk founder and CEO  Jason Tate via email. Tate is a  regular  contributor to the website’s  forums and has been absolutely stunned by the mere existence  of brokeNCYDE. “They’re just that bad, and they epitomize  everything that music (and human beings) should not be. “

Despite the apparent disgust from anyone over the age of 16, brokeNCYDE’s third album I’m Not a Fan, But the Kids Like It, debuted #86 on the Billboard 200 in 2009.

But lets put all musical judgments away and instead focus on what crunkcore bands are actually saying. The predominate lyrics from the crunkcore scene try to mimic those we’ve  previously seen from hip hop. However with crunkcore, the message is inherently mixed up in ignorance that transcends into the tough life of  suburban teen who doesn’t care about anything except having sex with girls, doing drugs, and being the “shitz”.

Drugs, sex & ego’s, you say?! So what’s the real difference between this and rap music? Let me clarify. Rap lyrics have always been an extremely controversial topic of debate. Rap’s  influence on children has brought up heated arguments on violence and sexism that is still saturating our society today. However, rap lyrics come from a peice of hip hop culture that is known and understood by those who are a part of it. Crunkcore, on the other hand, is merely emulating what this male dominated genre marks  as ‘cool’ and spitting it out into the masses.  Unfortunately for their fan base, to be ‘cool’, is to be shamelessly self adsorbed while setting low sexual standards for young girls. But I guess being bad was always cool, right?

Lyrics to ‘Sexting’ by Blood on the Dance Floor:

Hit me up/ Make me cum/ Wanna sext?/I’ll show you some/ Sticky drama/ All the way/ Want my dick? You gotta pay…Cut the shit/ Show your tits/ Flip it out on my sidekick/ Like Quagmier in Family Guy/ Giggity! Giggity! All the time… I wanna fuck you hard!/ I wanna feel you deep! / I wanna rock your body!/ I wanna taste your sweet!

Lyrics to brokeNCYDE’s ‘Sex Toyz’:

Turn around girlfriend now drop it./ Let me see you pop and lock it./ Put your hands down in my pocket./ And make my PP hard./ Shut the fuck up bitch, quit talking./ I want to see those panties dropping./ Drop those fucking panties girl!…And I love it when you tease me, YEAH!/ You’re sexy baby but you know that./ You don’t have to ask me a million times./ If you want to have sex lets make some time./ Lets take them drugs, lets drink that wine./ Feel that bottle up baby and make it shine./ When I can feel your body next to mine./ That when I know it’s sexy time.

Last time I checked, it was not cool for you to call you penis a “PeePee”.  Also last time I checked, it was not cool to sing songs to girls about wanting to have sex with them…especially when your fan base is mostly comprised of tween girls, 9-15 years old.

2 Responses to “Crunkcore or Canker Sore?”

  1. iahusby said

    yea, this is pretty gross. I mean, the music, not your post. Seriously, I am literally scared about where music is headed. Its painful to try to imagine whats next. Lord, dont let us go there! haha

  2. This is HILARIOUS. I used to show people Brokencyde all the time. They had a show in Denver while I was there, and we tried to get tickets just to see the scene, and it was sold out so we just took pictures of people waiting in line. If my kids listen to this crap when they grow up I will smack the shit out of them. Now I know why my mom was so upset that I loved Chumbawumba. You should check out the Myspace for the guy that opened for Brokencyde at that Denver show. His name is Jefreestar http://www.myspace.com/jeffreestar prepare to be disgusted.

Leave a Reply

